Homework comes home to roost!

kid-doing-homework-900x599Following from my previous piece on homework my 6 year old daughter has been given six pieces, yes six pieces of homework to do this week. They are:

  • Reading each day
  • Phonics 3 times a week
  • Spellings every night
  • Do one activity from ‘The Grid’. These can include a visit to a zoo, sending an email and researching parts of the brain and heart on the internet/write a story…
  • Revising phonics sounds
  • Download bingo card and play a game

This is actually homework for parents. My daughter is in year 1, and is not yet able to do most of the grid activities!

My wife and I work full time and my daughter goes to bed at 7pm.

Do I really want to spend any time I have with her during the week just doing homework? The answer of course is no.

Reading is what I would expect for year 1, phonic sounds and possibly some simple spellings from the Year 1/2 most frequent words but downloading games, printing them out, showing my daughter images of the heart and brain…hardly appropriate.

So I have asked to speak to the head about this and I hope some constructive dialogue will come of it.

will come of

 

 

Leave a Reply

