Opening Up

Today, I took one of the children out of class for their daily Maths/English intervention. These take about 15 minutes and the term used for them is Precision Teaching.

627447040However, he decided with children milling around us to tell me something of his life.

The child has been in interventions with me for couple of years. I knew a little of his background but today was the day that I got too know a whole lot more.

Obviously I cannot go into any detail suffice to say it was one of the most moving moments I have experienced in a school or possibly in my life.

I asked some open ended but gentle questions about how the child felt and what did it mean to them and when finished I was told that ‘I was the first Teacher he had spoken too about all this’. I have to say that I had a tear or two in my eyes at the end of it.

It is important that you have no secrets at school, it is part of Safeguarding and with that in mind I spoke to my teacher who suggested that I spoke to the head. I explained everything that was said and because of the nature of it she followed our protocol of writing all the details, signing and dating.

This will also go to the SENCO and will be kept on file.

Days like today make my job worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

